Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Indonesia W. Java FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - West Java Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

West Java Province is located at western part of Java Island. Established in 1950, the province borders on Banten and Jakarta in the west and Central Java in the east. West Java is a center of Sundanese culture. Bandung is capital where one of prestigious universities in Indonesia sited, namely Bandung Institute of Technology.

With total area of 37,994 sq km, West Java can be divided into region with steep mountains with altitude of ore than 1,500 m above the sea level in the south and moderate hill and plain region in the north. The region has tropical climate with temperature between 9 C in mountains range and 34 C in north beach. The average rainfall is at 2,000 mm per year, but in the mountainous areas could reach 3,000 to 5,000 mm per year.

West Java plays important role in agriculture industry of Java Island. This province is known as rice barn as well as prominent supplier of milk and vegetables. The upland area is the biggest tea farm in Indonesia. West Java industrial sector steadily grows and especially supported by tourism and other service industries.

The FDC's illustration depicts the Dutch-built Gedung Sate in Bandung.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails