Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Indonesia W. Kalimantan FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - West Kalimantan Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

Along with East Kalimantan, West Kalimantan is province that shares border with eastern part of Malaysia, namely Serawak. This area was established as an autonomous provincial region in 1957. Pontianak is capital of the province located at the equator line. A monument of Tugu Khatulistiwa was build as a landmark of this city.

Around 146,760 sq km wide. West Kalimantan is one among the largest province in Indonesia, including Papua, West Papua, Central Kalimantan and East Kalimantan. Mangrove, swamp and peat moss area lay along the coastline at west side. There are many rivers at central lowland area, i.e. Kapuas, Landak, Melawi and Sekayan River. Kapuas is recorded as the longest river in Indonesia with 1,100 km long.

Most of the people make a living in farming, especially rice, maize and vegetables. The economy depends very much on forestry commodities with Pontianak, Sambas, Sanggau, Kapuas Hulu and Sintang as its center area. Whereas, some minerals deposit is found, including bauxite, gold and oil.

The FDC's illustration depicts the Tugu Khatulistiwa (Equator Monument) in Pontianak.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails