Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Indonesia Riau FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - Riau Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

Riau is one of the richest provinces in Indonesia. Its wealth comes from the fossils spread out in many oil fields in this region. Established in 1958, Riau Province occupied the central part of eastern region of Sumatra Island. The coastal are faces straits of Malacca and Berhala. Pekanbaru is capital of the province. There are many historical sites in this region, for example Masjid Raya Pekanbaru, kings’ family tombs as well as palaces complex.

The size of this province is 72,569 sq km. Differs from other provinces in Sumatra Island which topographically dominated by mountains ranges, most of Riau region are lowland coast. Several rivers are stretching along the border of this province. The rivers play an important role as a means of transportation. The rivers length is from 300 to 500 m and depth is around 6 to 12 m.

As it has many oil fields and two of them are the biggest in Indonesia the province becomes the center of economic activity in Sumatra Island. The economic potential of this region also comes from tourism, fishery and plantation.

The FDC's illustration depicts the Candi Muara Takus in Kampar Regency.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails