Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Indonesia Aceh FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

Previously known as Special Region of Aceh, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam Province was officially established in 1956. The province is located at the northwest of Sumatra Island and surrounded by some small islands, namely Weh, Keureuse, Simeuleu, Deudeup, Breuh and Rondo Islands. Banda Aceh is capital of the province.

With total area of 55,392 sq km, topography of this province is divided into lowland along the coastline and highland stretches from north to south at central range. Leuseur Mountain (4,366 m) is the highest peak about 4,366 m above the sea level. There are some islands spread out around the region and some of it still uninhabited.

As one of the richest provinces in Indonesia with its fertile lands, many agricultural crops is produced here, i.e. tobacco, oil palm, and coffee. The main industrial commodities of this province are petroleum and LNG. Small islands surrounded by beautiful corals that spread in this region are appealing for tourism industry.

The FDC's illustration depicts the Grand Mosque in Banda Aceh.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails