Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Indonesia Maluku FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - Maluku Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

Maluku is a region renowned as a main spice producer in the world. Europeans, Chinese and Indian merchants had come to this place for cloves and nutmegs since hundreds years ago. Consisting hundreds of island, Maluku Province was then divided into two provinces in 2002, namely Maluku and North Maluku. Ambon is capital of Maluku Province.

Maluku Province consists of mountains and islands that spread in Banda Sea around 42,853 sq km. Banda Sea is well known as the deepest sea in Indonesia about 7,645 m depth. Seram and Buru are two big islands in this province. Among the tallest Mountains are Kapalatmada and Banaiya.

The economy is based on agriculture commodities, especially spices, sago, cacao, coffee and coconut. Fishes and seaweed are richly yielded from its wide sea area. Whereas, mineral deposits are found in some islands, i.e. Seram, Buru, Leti as well as Arafuru Sea.

The FDC's illustration depicts the Pattimura (Thomas Matulessy) Monument in Amdon.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails