Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Indonesia W. Sulawesi FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - West Sulawesi Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

West Sulawesi Province is the most recent province in Indonesia established in 2004. it is originated as separation from South Sulawesi Province. Mamuju is capital of the province. Located at Mamuju Bay, this city plays crucial role as a hub of sea transportation between East Kalimantan, South Sulawesi and Central Sulawesi.

Most of West Sulawesi region are hilly and mountainous with total are of 16,796 sq km. This highly fluctuated plateau stretches across central range of Sulawesi Island. Among the tallest peaks are Gandadewata and Kabinturu Mountain with 3,074 m and 2,655 m above sea level respectively. Relatively narrow lowland lay along the coastline. At the south, Pinrang lowland serves as a gateway to enter this province from South Sulawesi Province.

Most of the population depends on subsistence farming and fishing. The economy is based on commodities such as rice, spices, cacao, coffee, clove and tobacco. Pinrang is the prime supplier of rice for this province.

The FDC's illustration depicts the West Sulawesi Traditional House.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails