Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Indonesia Papua FDC

Indonesia FDC
Name: Provincial Emblems (1st Series) - Papua Province
Date of Issue: 17 August 2008

Comprising a half of western part of New Guinea Island, Papua Province was previously known as West Irian since 1969. The province was then named Irian Jaya by Soeharto Administration in 1973. In 2003, the Bird’s Head Peninsula part at the west was declared as separate province named West Papua. Jayapura is the Capital of Papua Province.

Around 420,000 sq km wide, Papua is topographically mountain range with over 1,600 km length and 3,000 up to 5,000 m height. The tree line is spread at the elevation range of 4,000 m and the tallest peaks are snowbound. Jaya Peak, also known as Cartensz Pyramid is the highest point at 5.030 above the sea level. Baliem valley is 1,600 m above the sea level land where Dani people live in the midst of the central mountain range. Mamberamo River runs at the northern part of this province.

Most of the population depends on subsistence farming, especially the cultivation of rice and maize. The main industries include copper, palm oil, copra, maize, groundnuts, pepper, tuna, gold, oil, coal, and phosphates. Tembagapura is possibly the largest concentration of copper in the world.

Indonesia Provincial Emblems FDCs (1st Series)
Bali, Gorontalo, West Java, Central Java, West Kalimantan, Maluku, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam, Papua, Riau, West Sulawesi, West Sumatra.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails