Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Russia Regions FDC

Russia FDC
Russia Regions
Date of Issue: 20 May 2008

1. Yaroslavl Oblast
Yaroslavl Oblast (Russian: Яросла́вская о́бласть, Yaroslavskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast), which is located in the Central Federal District, surrounded by Tver, Moscow, Ivanovo, Vladimir, Kostroma, and Vologda Oblasts. This geographic location affords the oblast the advantages of proximity to Moscow and St. Petersburg. Additionally, the administrative center of the oblast—the city of Yaroslavl—is an intersection of major highways, railroads, and waterways.

2. Krasnoyarsk Krai
Krasnoyarsk Krai (Russian: Красноя́рский край, Krasnoyarsky kray; not to be confused with Krasnodar Krai) is a federal subject of Russia (a krai). It is the second largest Russian region after the Sakha Republic, occupying an area of 2,339,700 square kilometers (903,400 sq mi), which is 13% of the country's total territory (about the size of Algeria). The administrative center of the krai is the city of Krasnoyarsk.

3. Sverdlovsk Oblast
Sverdlovsk Oblast (Russian: Свердло́вская о́бласть, Sverdlovskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast) located in the Urals Federal District. Given that the bulk of the oblast lies on the Asian side of the Urals (only its south-western extremity is on the European side of the mountains) it should be recognized as the most populous oblast within Asian Russia.

4. Volgograd Oblast
Volgograd Oblast (Russian: Волгогра́дская о́бласть, Volgogradskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). Its administrative center is the city of Volgograd.

5. Penza Oblast
Penza Oblast (Russian: Пе́нзенская о́бласть, Penzenskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). It is located in the Volga Federal District. The administrative center is Penza.

Comment: Russia Post used 5 special cancellations for this set, but I think it's very difficult to collect all of 5 special cancellations' real posted FDCs. You must have friends in 5 different cities in these Oblasts or Krai's capital.

2008 Russia Regions FDC
2007 Russia Regions FDC
2007 Russia Regions FDC (Irkutsk Oblast)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails