Thursday, August 30, 2007

Russia Regions FDC

Russia FDC
Name: Russia Regions
Date of Issue: 21 August 2007
1. Вологодская область (Vologda Oblast)
Vologda Oblast (Russian: Волого́дская о́бласть, Vologodskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). Area: 145,700 km²; population: 1,269,568 (as of the 2002 Census). Its largest city is Cherepovets, but the administrative center is Vologda.

Vologda Oblast is rich in historic monuments, such as the magnificent Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery, Ferapontov Convent (a World Heritage Site), medieval towns of Velikiy Ustyug and Belozersk, baroque churches of Totma and Ustyuzhna, etc.

2. Ростовская область (Rostov Oblast)
Rostov Oblast (Russian: Росто́вская о́бласть, Rostovskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast), located in the Southern Federal District. Rostov Oblast lies in the south of Russia with an area of 100,800 km² and a population of 4,404,013 (2002 Census) making it the fifth most populous federal subject in Russia. Its administrative center is the city of Rostov-on-Don, which also became the administrative center of the Southern Federal District in 2002.

3. Орловская область (Oryol Oblast)
Oryol Oblast (Russian: Орло́вская о́бласть, Orlovskaya Oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). Its administrative center is the city of Oryol.

It is located in the southwestern part of the Central Federal District. Kaluga and Tula Oblasts border it in the north. Bryansk Oblast is located to the west, Kursk Oblast—to the south, and Lipetsk Oblast—to the east. From north to south, it extends for more than 150 kilometers (93 mi), and from west to east—for over 200 kilometers (120 mi). It is one of the smallest Russian regions with a population of less than one million, approximately 62% of which is urban and 38%—rural.

Area: 24,700 square kilometers (9,540 sq mi), population: 860,262 (as of the 2002 Census).

4. Алтайский край (Altai Krai)
Altai Krai (Russian: Алта́йский край, Altaysky kray) is a federal subject of Russia (a krai) in the Siberian Federal District. It borders with, clockwise from the south, Kazakhstan, Novosibirsk and Kemerovo Oblasts, and the Altai Republic. The krai's administrative center is the city of Barnaul.

The krai's head of administration Mikhail Yevdokimov died in a car crash on August 7, 2005.

The krai's economy depends on agriculture and granted by the Russian government.

As of the 2002 All-Russian Population Census, Russians make the majority with 92%. Germans are the second with about 3% (see Mennonite settlements of Altai). The area is also populated by 2% Ukrainians, 0.4% Kazakhs, 0.35% Tatars, 0.32% Belarusians, 0.31% Armenians, and by people of other nationalities.

5. Новосибирская область (Novosibirsk Oblast)
Novosibirsk Oblast (Russian: Новосиби́рская о́бласть, Novosibirskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast). Its administrative center is the city of Novosibirsk.

Novosibirsk Oblast is located in the southeastern Western Siberian plain, at the foothills of low Salair ridge, between the Ob and Irtysh Rivers. Novosibirsk Oblast borders Omsk Oblast (W), Tomsk Oblast (N), and Kemerovo Oblast (E). The southern and the southwestern borders of Novosibirsk Oblast are with Altai Krai and the state of Kazakhstan (Pavlodar Oblysy). The territory of the oblast extends for more than 600 km from west to east, and for over 400 km from north to south. Novosibirsk Oblast is mainly plain; at south the steppes prevail; at north enormous tracts of woodland with great number of marshes prevail. There are many lakes, the largest ones located at the south. The majority of the rivers belong to the Ob basin, many of them falling in dead lakes. Largest lakes are Chani, Sartlan, Ubinskoye, and some others.

6. Иркутская область (Irkutsk Oblast)
Irkutsk Oblast (Russian: Ирку́тская о́бласть, Irkutskaya oblast) is a federal subject of Russia (an oblast), located in south-eastern Siberia in the basins of Angara River, Lena, and Nizhnyaya Tunguska Rivers. The administrative center is Irkutsk.

2008 Russia Regions FDC
2007 Russia Regions FDC
2007 Russia Regions FDC (Irkutsk Oblast)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails