Saturday, July 18, 2009

Russia Nuclear Fleet FDC

Russia FDC
Name: 50 Years of Russian Nuclear Fleet
Date of Issue: 18 June 2009

Nuclear Powered Icebreaker "Lenin"
NS Lenin is a Soviet icebreaker launched in 1957, and is both the world's first nuclear powered surface ship and the first nuclear powered civilian vessel. Lenin was put into operation in 1959 and officially decommissioned in 1989. More...

8.00: Nuclear Powered Icebreaker "Taymyr"
Taymyr (sometimes spelled Taimyr) is a shallow-draft nuclear powered icebreaker, and the first of four similar vessels. She was built in 1989 for the Soviet Union in Helsinki, at the Finnish shipyard Wärtsilä, by order of the Murmansk Shipping Co.

The Taymyr was delivered to Russia for the installation of the reactor system. It has a nuclear-turbo-electric reactor giving up to 50,000 hp. This shallow-draft icebreaker is used mainly for clearing rivers, including their mouths and estuaries of ice and opening channels in order to make winter navigation possible. More...

9.00: Nuclear Powered Icebreaker "Yamal"
The NS Yamal (Russian: Яма́л) is a Russian Arktika class nuclear powered icebreaker operated by the Murmansk Shipping Company. It is named after the Yamal Peninsula in Northwest Siberia; the name means End of the Land in the Nenets language. More...

10.00: Nuclear Powered Icebreaker "50 Years Since Victory"
NS 50 Years Since Victory or 50 Years Anniversary of Victory (Russian: 50 лет Победы, transliterated as 50 Let Pobedy) is a Russian Arktika class nuclear powered icebreaker, the largest in the world as of 2007. More...

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails