Saturday, July 25, 2009

China Stamps: 2009-14

China Stamps
Name: Sanjiangyuan Nature Reserve
Number: 2009-14
Date of Issue: 25 July 2009
Value: 3 stamps/set

1.20元 (3-1):
Geladandong Snow Mountain, the highest in the Tanggula Mountains, is where the Tuotuo River (headstream of the Yangtze River) originates.

1.20元 (3-2): Eling Lake
Eling Lake, the most important natural storage reservoir in the Yellow River source are, is one of the pair of largest freshwater lakes on the upper reaches of the Yellow River, the other being Zhaling Lake. The two are dubbed as "Sister Lakes at the Source of the Yellow River".

1.20元 (3-3): Dza Chu
Dza Chu, the headstream of the Lancang River, converges with the Angqu River, which originates from Mt. Gangguori of the Tanggula Mountains, to form the Lancang River.

Sanjiangyuan (Source of Three Rivers) Nature Reserve, covering an area of 152,300 square kilometers in southern Qinghai Province, is so named because of its location at the headwaters of the Changjiang (Yangtze), Huanghe (Yellow) and Lancang rivers. It was established to prtect the local plateau wetland ecosystem, alpine meadows and wildlife and plants. Here are numerous lakes and swamps, a dense network of rivers, and wide distribution of snow mountains and glaciers. Home to the world's highest-altitude wetlands, the Sanjiangyuan are is reputed to be the "Source of Rivers" and the "Water Tower of China".

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails