Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Russia Antarctic FDC

Russia FDC
Name: The 50th Anniversary of the Antarctic Treaty
Date of Issue: 30 November 2009

In 2009 the Antarctic Treaty celebrates its 50th anniversary. The document came into force on December 1st, 1959 after its ratification by 12 countries - first members. The main purpose of the Treaty - to ensure the peaceful exploration of Antarctica to the benefit of the whole mankind; it provides the freedom of scientific researches and promotes international cooperation.

The stamp presents the attributes of Russian Antarctic investigations – cross-country vehicle "Kharkovchanka-2", weather balloon, solar battery, automatic weather station - on the background of the contours of the Antarctic Region and the flag of the Russian Federation.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails