Wednesday, September 5, 2007

China Stamp: 2007-26

China Stamp
Name: FIFA Women's World Cup China 2007
Number: 2007-26T
Issue date: 2007 September 10th

The FIFA Women's World Cup 2007 will be held in China from September 10-September 30 2007. Originally, China was to host the 2003 Women's World Cup, but the outbreak of SARS in that country forced that event to be moved to the United States. FIFA immediately granted the 2007 event to China, which means that no new host nation will be chosen competitively until voting is held for the 2011 Women's World Cup. The 2007 Championship is seen as a prelude to the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, for which China is preparing at an accelerated pace with a high budget and much fanfare.

Africa (CAF):
Nigeria, Ghana.
Asia (AFC): China PR (host nation - automatically qualified), Australia, Korea DPR, Japan (defeated Mexico in AFC-CONCACAF playoffs).
North America, Central America & Caribbean (CONCACAF): Canada, USA.
Europe (UEFA): Norway, Sweden, Germany, Denmark, England.
Oceania (OFC): New Zealand.
South America (CONMEBOL): Argentina, Brazil.

·Tianjin, Tianjin Olympics Center Stadium 60,000 Capacity
·Wuhan, Wuhan Sports Center Stadium 55,000 Capacity
·Hangzhou, Zhejiang Dragon Stadium 52,000 Capacity
·Chengdu, Chengdu Sports Center 40,000 Capacity
·Shanghai, Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium 34,000 Capacity

Official site of FIFA Women's World Cup China 2007

      No comments:

      Related Posts with Thumbnails