Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Malaysia State Emblems M/S FDC

Malaysia Minisheet FDC
Name: State Emblems of Malaysia
Issue date: 2007 September 25th

The National and State Emblems is a symbol of pride to the people of a tate or nation. Each symbol in the emblem has its own specific meaning.

Designs: 2nd Row, From left to right.
Detail of 1st row...

Kingdom of Perlis
The wreath of paddy represents the primary occupation and main product of the State. The shield represents the pride and symbol of honour of the State as a rice granary.

Sultanate of Selangor
The crescent and the star signifies Islam, that is the State's official religion. The red spear in the centre with a short keris to the right and a long keris to the left are part of the State regalia. The Jawi writing reads the state motto, 'Under the protection of Allah'. Below the phrase appears the broad belt (tali bengkung) or sash worn at the waist by warriors in the past.

Sultanate of Terengganu
Crescent and star symbolizes Terengganu as an Islamic state. The crown symbolizes the sovereignty of the King and the sword, mace and the long keris signifies the state's royal regalia. The Quran is placed on the right to represent Islam as the official religion, whilst the The Book of Law placed on the left signifies justice. The Wali or Selampai is to denote part of the state's cultural regalia.

The Bunga Raya (Hibiscus) that is the national flower of Malaysia, is positioned on the right and left side of the Kenyalang bird. The banner underneath the Kenyalang bird's feet carries the new State motto: 'Bersatu, Berusaha, Berbakti' (Unity, Industrious, Dedicated). On the bird's chest is a shield bearing the state colours namely black, red and yellow.

Pulau Pinang
The areca tree (pokok pinang) gave the island its name. The Penang Bridge is not only a source of pride to the people of Pulau Pinang; it also unites the island with mainland part of the State, as well as symbolizing the unity between the state and the federation. The two pillars of the bridge stands for two basic features of the New Economic Policy, namely the eradication of poverty and restructuring of society, while the four cables represent the four major races in the nation, that is the Malays, Chinese, Indian and others. The five blue and white waves symbolize the five principles of the Rukun Negara (National Principles) and the five administrative districts of the State.

The two arms symbolize unity and cooperation among the State's multi-racial community for progress and success of the country. The five colours represent the five divisions in the State. Zircon blue symbolizes peace and tranquility, white – purity and justice, chilli red – courage and conviction, light blue – unity and prosperity and royal blue denotes strength and cooperation. The silhouette shape of Mount Kinabalu is a symbol of the State of Sabah. The state motto reads "Successful Sabah" on the red scroll.

The various colours are the colours of the Federated States of Malaysia and indicates that the Malacca is part of the Federated States. The five keris represents five warriors who are well known for their bravery in ancient Malacca: Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekiu, Hang Lekir and Hang Kasturi. The crescent moon and star in the middle of the top section are the symbols of Islam, the official religion of the State. The Melaka tree, placed in the centre is the tree from which the State derived its name. The two mousedeers supporting the shield serve to recall the incident involving the mousedeer, which led the first ruler of Malacca to choose the site and formed his empire. The state motto on the blue scroll reads "Unity is Strength".

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails